Album Cover Front

© (P) 1982 CBS, Inc; © 1993, 2014, Sony Music Entertainment Inc. "Amazon," "iTunes," and "Spotify" are registered trademarks of their respective companies who have no affiliation with this website.

Contributions, clarifications and/or corrections are welcomed: Contact.



Columbia/CBS FC/FCA/FCT 38061 (USA, Aug. 27, 1982)
Columbia/CBS CK-38061 (1989, CD Issue)
Columbia/SMEi CK/CT-57368 (1993, 20-bit SBM digital remaster)
Columbia/SME 88883761441 (2014, 180g LP reissue)


A1. Jailbait (4:38) - Steven Tyler, Jimmy Crespo
A2. Lightning Strikes (4:26) - Richard Supa
A3. Bitch's Brew (4:14) - Steven Tyler, Jimmy Crespo
A4. Bolivian Ragamuffin (3:32) - Steven Tyler, Jimmy Crespo
A5. Cry Me a River (4:06) - Arthur Hamilton
B1. Prelude to Joanie (1:21) - Steven Tyler
B2. Joanie's Butterfly (5:35) - Steven Tyler, Jimmy Crespo, Jack Douglas
B3. Rock in a Hard Place (Cheshire Cat) (4:46) - Steven Tyler, Jimmy Crespo, Jack Douglas
B4. Jig Is Up (3:10) - Steven Tyler, Jimmy Crespo
B5. Push Comes to Shove (4:28) - Steven Tyler


Produced by Jack Douglas, Steven Tyler and Tony Bongiovi. Engineered by Godfrey Diamond, Tony Bongiovi, and Jack Douglas; assisted by Josh Abbey, John Agnello, Bruce Hensal, Malcolm Pollack, Gary Rindfuss, Jim Sessody, Zoe Yanakis. Overdubs recorded on Key Biscayne by Criteria on Wheels and engineered Godrfey Diamond, Joe Foglia and Bob Kosiba. While Rick Dufay is credited on the album, he did not perform on any of the studio recordings.

Performance credits:

Lightning Strikes - Brad Whitford on rhythm guitar.
Joanie's Butterfly - Reinhard Straub on violin; John Lievano on acoustic guitar.
Rock in a Hard Place (Cheshire Cat) - John Turi on saxophone.
Push Comes to Shove - Paul Harris on piano.
Jack Douglas contributes percussion throughout.

Chart Action:

Chart Peak (USA): #32 (10/16/82) with 18 weeks on the Billboard charts. The album fared worse on Cashbox only reaching #42 (11/13/82). Other countries: CAN #24.


While "Lightning Strikes" was issued to video music channels such as MTV, it was not accompanied (in the U.S.) with a physical single release. However, the song did feature on Billboard's Album Top Tracks chart reaching #21 during a nine-week run. A promotional 12" was issued in 1983 with "Bitches Brew," for which a Jonas McCord produced and directed 3-D video was also filmed but never released.


In the United States, the album was certified Gold by the RIAA on Nov. 10, 1989. It has never been recertified. In the SoundScan era the album sold 101,000 units between 1991 and Feb. 2007.

Performed Live:

Five songs from the album debuted at the first show of the supporting tour: "Bolivian Ragamuffin," "Jig Is Up," "Jailbait," Rock In A Hard Place (Cheshire Cat)," and "Lightning Strikes." While that number quickly dropped, "Bitches Brew" was added in December. is an unofficial & unsanctioned fan website/book project
that is NOT affiliated with the band, the individual band members, their management, record labels
or their business entities, past or present, in any manner whatsoever. This project is a respectful
tribute documenting their touring history.

Many images/reviews/quotes used under U.S. code TITLE 17, CHAPTER 1, § 107, "Limitations on exclusive rights: Fair use." This site HAS a registered DMCA agent.

Original content © 2021-2024 -- All Rights Reserved. Contact.