Album Cover Front

© (P) 1988 CBS, Inc; © 1993, 2014, Sony Music Entertainment Inc. "Amazon," "iTunes," and "Spotify" are registered trademarks of their respective companies who have no affiliation with this website.

Contributions, clarifications and/or corrections are welcomed: Contact.

GEMS (1988)


CBS/Columbia FC/FCT/CK- 44487 (USA, 11/15/88)
CBS/Columbia CT/CK-57371 (USA, 1993)


A1. Rats in the Cellar (4:03) - Joe Perry, Steven Tyler
A2. Lick and a Promise (3:03) - Joe Perry, Steven Tyler
A3. Chip Away the Stone (3:59) - Richard Supa
A4. No Suprize (4:24) - Joe Perry, Steven Tyler
A5. Mama Kin (4:24) - Steven Tyler
A6. Adam's Apple (4:31) - Steven Tyler
B1. Nobody's Fault (4:16) - Brad Whitford, Steven Tyler
B2. Round and Round (5:00) - Brad Whitford, Steven. Tyler
B3. Critical Mass (4:51) - Jack Douglas, Steven Tyler
B4. Lord of the Thighs (4:14) - Steven Tyler
B5. Jailbait (4:35) - Jimmy Crespo, Steven Tyler
B6. Train Kept A Rollin' (5:44) - Tiny Bradshaw, Lois Mann, Howard Kay


Executive producers: David Krebs and Steve Leber. Previously unreleased track A3 produced by Jack Douglas who had remixed the track at Island Media in New York City using a Synclavier for sonic enhancements in order to target it at album-oriented rock. From a trade review: "From a band that already has three live best-of albums under its studded belt, a second greatest-hits collection may seem excessive" (Billboard, 12/3/88) ... Especially at a time when "Greatest Hits" had then recently been certified 4X Platinum by the RIAA (11/21/88).

Chart Action:

Chart Peak (USA): #133 (1/7/89) with 11 weeks on the Billboard charts. The album also reached #139 on Cashbox (12/24/88) during a 12-week run. Other countries: N.A..


"Chip Away the Stone" was released backed with "S.O.S. (Too Bad)" (CBS/Columbia 38/38T-08536). It reached #13 (1/14/89) during 11 weeks on Billboard's Album Rock Tracks chart and was accompanied by a video which went on the air in early Jan. 1989. It charted for one week in Cashbox's mainstream Top-100 singles chart at #93.


Certified Gold by the RIAA on Aug. 16, 1996. During the SoundScan era, the album had sold 434,130 copies between 1991 and 2007. is an unofficial & unsanctioned fan website/book project
that is NOT affiliated with the band, the individual band members, their management, record labels
or their business entities, past or present, in any manner whatsoever. This project is a respectful
tribute documenting their touring history.

Many images/reviews/quotes used under U.S. code TITLE 17, CHAPTER 1, § 107, "Limitations on exclusive rights: Fair use." This site HAS a registered DMCA agent.

Original content © 2021-2024 -- All Rights Reserved. Contact.